Where to Find a Speech Language Pathologist in Nepal

nepalThe title of this post is a big misnomer because the answer to this question is: I don’t know! I’m writing this post with the hope that someone who is a speech language pathologist (A.K.A. SLP or speech therapist) in Nepal might someday see this post and reach out. 

As I’ve mentioned before in a previous post, I am a speech language pathologist. I live and work in the Boston area in a K-8 public school. I think what I do (help children improve their ability to communicate) is one of the coolest jobs in the world. I have received several emails over the years from fellow SLP’s connected to Nepal. A few years ago, I received an email from an Australian SLP who travels to Nepal to provide therapy to adults (how cool is that!?). I also remember receiving an email from a student who is studying to be a speech therapist in Nepal. I have heard from other sources that there is a graduate program in Kathmandu that trains speech language pathologists; however, I don’t know which university hosts this program.

Over the years, I have also received several emails from parents in Nepal looking for SLP services for their children. Friends and family members from Nepal have also mentioned to me that they know of children in Kathmandu who are in desperate need of speech therapy.

As I mentioned above, I am writing this post in the hopes that someone who provides speech therapy in Nepal will see it and reach out to me. I would love to be able to provide parents with a name of a school, private practice, a hospital, or an individual who can provided services to children in need of speech therapy.

Here is some potentially helpful information for those looking for speech therapy in Nepal:

  • I have heard from a friend that there is a school for children with autism in Kathmandu. I don’t know the name of the school, but some internet research reveals that there is an organization called Autism Care Nepal that provides some services to children and adults who have an autism diagnosis.
  • A quick google search revealed that there is something called Nepal Hearing and Speech Care Center that I assume provides services to children and adults who are deaf or hard of hearing. You may want to contact the center if you are interested.
  • As mentioned above there seems to be a graduate program in Nepal that educates speech language pathologists. Many graduate programs in speech language pathology have clinics where graduate students provide free or reduced cost services to children and adults. It might be worth doing some research to find out where this graduate program is hosted.
  • In the fall I learned that the Communication Sciences and Disorders department at George Washington University hosts an international trip for its speech therapy graduate students in Nepal every two years. It is possible that members of this program may provide assessments for those in need when they return to Nepal next.
  • (Just a quick disclaimer that I have no affiliation with the aforementioned centers or universities).

If you are an individual in Nepal looking for speech and language therapy, definitely start by doing some online research. The American Speech Language and Hearing Association’s website is a good place to start.

I really hope that in the future I will be able to spend my summers in Nepal. I would love to provide assessment and therapy when I am there for longer swaths of time, although that’s not a possibility in my life right now. Good luck to all of those individuals looking for a speech language pathologist in Nepal. Although I can’t diagnose or treat communication disorders online, if you have any other specific questions for me, I can try my best to answer them via email at nepalijiwan@gmail.com.

If you are a speech language pathologist in Nepal or know someone who is, please reach out by commenting or emailing me.

Leave a Reply

