An earthquake, a Graduation, and Starting to Blog Again

Tri and I hate getting calls at odd hours because they usually mean that something bad has happened in Nepal. On April 25th, we got a call in the early morning from Tri’s dad, telling us that there had been a terrible earthquake. Tri’s dad, step-mom, and brother all sounded terrified but reported that they were okay. We immediately checked facebook and looked at the news – the devastation we saw broke our hearts.

We are still trying to make sense of it all. Tri’s family’s apartment was pretty much destroyed. However, they are very fortunate to have another home in which they can stay, and I am beyond happy that everyone we know is safe. From what I’ve read, it was the poorest families and those in rural areas who were hit hardest. I know about a great organization called the dZi Foundation that does work in rural areas. If you are thinking about donating to the relief effort, consider them. I met the founder of the dZi Foundation back in 2009 through my study abroad program; he’s a really good guy and has done some amazing work in Nepal.

Grad Day

Me and Tri on graduation day trying to figure out my gown and hood.

The other big thing that has happened in the last few months: I graduated from my master’s program. Finally! In September, I start working as a speech language pathologist/clinical fellow in a middle school. I’ve been working so hard for so long, and I feel really darn lucky that I made it through my program, got a job, and get to work in a field that I love. It was just about 4 years ago that I found this awesome career, and I can’t wait to finally start working! I still dream about working as a speech therapist in Nepal some day, maybe during the summers. I’d absolutely love to get in touch with some schools over there especially ones that
serve children with autism and/or multiple disabilities. We’ll see where that dream takes us…

The last couple of years, I have been so focused on trying to get through school that the rest of my life kind of fell by the wayside. I’m slowly trying to rekindle my old interests, so I thought I’d do a bit of blogging and continue to reach out to others who love Nepal as much as we do!

4 thoughts on “An earthquake, a Graduation, and Starting to Blog Again

  1. Hey zoe,
    found your blog while i was searching for “jiwan jal” for a legal opinion I was writing. lol
    I got stuck here reading some of your writings. Well forgot about the task I had (my bosses are going to kill me of course) haha

    The writings are amazing!
    And the picture above with your husband is super cute
    All the best to you both. 🙂

    Atit.

Leave a Reply

