Breaking the Ice

I keep starting blog post after blog post, trying to figure out exactly what I want to write, but I seriously don’t know where to start. So instead I’m just going to say that it’s been way to long since I posted last! I’m going to try and post a bit more for at least the next few months.

Partly because…we’re going back to Nepal for a month in July! I’m super excited to see friends and family and eat a TON of Nepali food while I’m there. Thinking about going back to Nepal is bitter sweet because I know that we’ll only be there for a few weeks, but alas such is life. Tri thinks that after our short visit, I’ll be ready to come home to Boston, and I kind of hope he’s right so that it’s not too painful to leave.

I can tell you a little bit about what I’ve been up to for the past however many months. Since last summer, I’ve been working at a learning center, mostly helping kids who have dyslexia. I’ve also been applying to and getting into grad school and taking classes that I needed to get out of the way before I start school in the fall. For the next two years, I’m going to be studying communication sciences and disorders so that I can become a speech language pathologist. As I’ve written about before, my interest in language and communication all started back in Nepal when I was first learning Nepali. In college, I became more interested in communication disorders when I got the chance to shadow a few speech language pathologists. While I was teaching in Kathmandu, I kept asking around to figure out if anyone knew of any speech language pathologists there. Although I did hear of people in Kathmandu hospitals who work with stroke patients on language skills, I don’t think that any of the schools in KTM have speech therapists. Anyway, I’m kind of hoping to do some more sleuthing while we’re there to see if I can meet a Nepali SLP.

For the month of June, I’ll be finishing up my last prerequisite classes and getting ready for our trip. I’m so excited to be posting again. I had forgotten how much fun it is to blog!

21 thoughts on “Breaking the Ice

  1. I m glad to hear about you. thats a pitty you will go to nepal, I leave nepal last night. Now I m at the doha Airport and waiting for my connect flight to germany. I have been 9 months in nepal and it was such a great time……..maybe next time we meet in nepal. I wish you a good time there

  2. Hi Zoe! I just accidentally came across your blog whilst googling- as you do! I am a Speech Pathologist and have just got back from my first trek in Nepal- so we have a little bit in common. I have been trying to find some kind of work or volunteer work as a Speech Pathologist too, but it seems hard to do, unless you are affiliated with a Christian organisation or able to pay to volunteer. I’ve been to Nepal 4 times and one time with http://www.Nepalability.org – might be interesting for you to check them out, for when you’re a Speechie! Anyway, just thought I’d say, Namaste!, ani ramrosanga januhos! Take care, Cathy

    • It’s great to hear from another SLP who has connections w/ Nepal! I will definitely check out Nepal ability. None of the schools in KTM I know about have speech therapists or other professionals who provide special education and/or academic support. While I was teaching in Nepal, I was once talking to another teacher about speech language pathology. She said that since those services aren’t currently available in Nepal and because there is a need for them, an SLP might be able to make some kind of living where he/she goes around to various schools in the valley and provides speech and language therapy. Lincoln School (the international, American based school in KTM), may provide some of these services but the other big name private schools in the valley: Rato Bangala, St. Mary’s, St. Xavier’s, Budhanilkantha, etc. don’t to my knowledge.

      I follow a blog by woman who started a school for orphans in a rural area of Nepal: http://blinknow.org/. She was featured in the New York Times Magazine a few years back and has gotten pretty famous. I know that they have fellowships for various positions at the school, and one of them is in early childhood education I think. I remember reading a blog post about the fellow who had filled that position for the year, and she was an occupational therapist. It would be really cool to do that as an SLP, although you may have to pay to live and work there. If I were to ever move back to Nepal for an extended period of time, I would definitely want to be in KTM since that’s where my husband’s family lives, but if you’re flexible about location, you may be able to find some amazing opportunities outside of the valley.

      I have wondered if there are any materials/tests, etc. in Nepali (or any other language spoken in Nepal) for evaluating speech and language, although I doubt it. If you were to work as an SLP in Nepal, it would be amazing to start developing evaluation materials and treatment methods in Nepali so that you could provide services in both Nepali and English. I don’t think I speak Nepali fluently enough to feel comfortable providing treatment in that language, but if you do, that would be so amazing! I wonder if there are evaluation materials available in Hindi (I’ll bet there are), and since many of the sounds are similar in Hindi and Nepali, that might be a good place to start if you are looking to develop materials evaluating articulation. (Of course that’s only one part of what SLP’s do).

      lol. this comment has seriously turned in a ramble. Anyway, it’s great to hear from you!

      • Dherai dhanyabad Zoe! Tapaiko reply ekdam ramro chha. Could we continue to chat over email, as I suspect my reply will be even longer than yours!! I found your email on another page of your website, so will send you a message there. I hope your preparation for your upcoming trip goes smoothly and enjoy going back to Nepal! La! Cathy

  3. i study speech language pathology in nepal. only four students are selected here on the basis of merit list here in TU Teaching hospital which has the highest overflow of sp lang patients.

    The people over here are not so aware of speech lang problems and most of them even dont know who the SLPs are. we have speech and hearing unit but it is completely kept under ENT department. so the patients cant approach an SLP directly without the referal of ent doctor. we need to struggle to make people aware of the SLPs.

    i am an undergraduate student and how should i proceed to get postgraduate degree from US? could you please guide me?

    • This is really interesting to hear. If you are interested in getting a masters from the US, you’ll need to take the GRE’s and TOEFL and get recommendations and transcripts together before you apply to programs. In fact, I think that there may be a few international students in my program this year. If you have more specific questions you want to ask, feel free to email me at nepalijiwan (at) gmail (dot) com.

  4. Hi! I came across your blog while searching for a speech therapist here in Nepal. I am living in Nepal for the next 18 month, possibly longer, and I have a three year old son who has apraxia. I am looking to find someone to work with him. I use speech cards for apraxia with him, but he really needs someone who is specialized to work with him. Do you know of anyone here who you would recommend? Thanks for any help you can offer!

    • Hi ..me too coming to nepal on holiday for 4months ..i m also looking for the speech therapist for my child during the period .. Did u get any or could u plez suggest me some good center?? Thankyou.

      • Hi, thanks for reaching out to me. Unfortunately, I have yet to connect with pediatric speech language pathologist in Nepal. I’m not sure if there is one in KTM. However, if you email me, I might be able to provide you with some suggestions and ideas.

        All the best,
        Zoe

  5. Hi.. i was wondering if anyone could suggest accredited SLP in Nepal. I have a 5 years old son and im doubting he has SLI .

Leave a Reply

