Tuning in to Nepali Radio

Listing to Nepali radio on my phone

Nepali TV and radio have always been some of the hardest things for me to understand. People speak exceptionally fast and use lots of words that I’ve never heard before, so I usually only get bits and pieces. I was so grateful to have the BBC available on the radio in Nepal so that I could listen to the news in English as we were driving to work. But now that we’re back in the US, I miss Nepali radio! I don’t miss the talk shows so much because I couldn’t understand them very well in the first place, but I do miss the music.

Luckily I don’t have to miss it so much anymore because I can get Nepali radio on my phone 🙂 I just recently got an iPhone, and my mom showed me this cool app called Tunein Radio that you can download for free. It allows you to listen to music from all over the world. There are several Nepali radio stations available, although not every channel is always reliable. Sometimes you have to try a few before one will come through. Of course I could always listen to a song or two on youtube, but there’s something about the spontaneity of radio that’s just more fun. Although music is what I’m listening to most, I find myself tuning in to talk shows too because I’m realizing how much I miss hearing Nepali being spoken. Both talk and and music radio can also be great language-learning resources. At the very least, I’m hoping that hearing more Nepali will help me improve my accent. Happy listening!

6 thoughts on “Tuning in to Nepali Radio

      • I also use Nepali FM and love listening to Nepali radio as well. I actually enjoy the BBC style sounding Nepali news. I don’t understand any of it, but I enjoy trying to recognize speech patterns or a few words sticking out in the rapid speech. Happy Listening.

  1. Thanks for the tip! I just moved back to the US from Kathmandu where I had lived for three years and my Nepali fiance will come soon. I’ve been following your blog for a little so I thought I’d write a note to introduce myself.
    -Claire

    • Thanks for your comment! I noticed on your twitter that you’re in my home state right now 😀 Good to meet a fellow PA-er. I’d love to read more about your story. Do you keep a blog?

Leave a Reply

