On Our Way Out

On April 21st it will be nine months since we arrived in Nepal. Some days I feel like we’ve been here forever and other days, I feel like these months have passed in a second. Now we’re headed back.

Last month we found out that Tri needed to be back in the US for work by summer, but we weren’t exactly sure when. Recently the date was pushed to May 1st, and our flight is in less than a week and a half.

I feel sad to be leaving Nepal. I faced some health issues here (namely asthma) and certainly dealt with culture shock but there are things about Nepal that I absolutely love and am going to miss. I’ll put up a post about that soon.

However, I am looking forward to being able to ride public transportation, have electricity all hours of the day, and buy milk in a gallon container that will last the whole week. I’m looking forward to moving to a new city and starting classes for my masters. In many ways, I’ve loved living with Tri’s family, but I can’t wait for us to be on our own.

Buwa calls the US my ama (mother) and Nepal my sanima, which literally means “little mother,” but is a word for “aunt” in Nepali. I know I’ll always have a home with my sanima. Hopefully Tri and I can visit before too long, and someday we’d like to live here for part of the year. I don’t know if that will ever happen, but I can dream 🙂

The frantic search for apartments in a new city and a suitable car has begun, and there’s so much shopping to do and so many people to visit before we leave. But despite the chaos, we’re trying to relax and enjoy our last week too.

4 thoughts on “On Our Way Out

  1. I love this: “Buwa calls the US my ama (mother) and Nepal my sanima, which literally means “little mother,” but is a word for “aunt” in Nepali. I know I’ll always have a home with my sanima.”

    Enjoy your last few days! Safe travels! And you are ALWAYS welcome to visit in MA 🙂

  2. I am way behind the curve! SO glad you will be back in the states. Hope to see you both at the beach this summer. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

