Waiting

It’s always difficult to wait, and lately it’s been wearing me down.

One thing the we’re waiting for is the one year mark of Tri’s mom’s death. Last weekend was the shradda for the eleventh month, so the one year mark is only a few weeks away. I guess it’s sort of like the final funeral for Mamu. There’s going to be a priest, a puja, and family members and friends will be over at the house. We’ve been waiting for this day for the last eleven months, waiting for the mourning period to end, waiting for things to go on. As the year has inched by, things have progressively gotten better. Tri’s dad is definitely doing better, and so are Tri and his brother. Things feels less overwhelming and more normal. But as we move closer to this one year marker, I’m feeling more and more anxious. I just want it to be over with, and waiting has gotten under my skin.

The other thing that we’re waiting for is more news about our return to the US.

When we came here last summer, we weren’t really sure how long we’d stay. We knew we had to be here at least until the one year date of Mamu’s death, but beyond that, we had nothing telling us to stay or to go. We considered the possibility of settling in Nepal, but a few months after moving here, I decided I didn’t want to make Nepal our home base. There are so many amazing things about being in Nepal, but there have been some real challenges too. So a few months into our stay, Tri and I talked about when we wanted to go back. I knew that I wanted to start grad school in fall of 2013, but before that, we were free to be where we wanted. At first, we thought we’d stay here for a year; then we moved it to two years, then a year and half. We kept changing our minds. But now it seems like we’ll be going back sooner than we had planned. I won’t say more about it until I have more details, but our return to the US is definitely on the horizon.

A few weeks ago, I started to look at some pictures that Tri took of my parents’ house and backyard right before we came to Nepal last summer. He had bought a DSLR for his uncle, and was testing it out before we packed it into our suitcase. Here are some of the picures

Upstairs hallway

Flowers in the backyard

More flowers

Stone face on a wall

While I was looking at pictures, I felt a wave of longing to be back in the US. For the lastย eight months, I’ve been swallowing feelings about my family, kind of ignoring how much I miss them. I knew I wouldn’t see them for a long time, so I had put the idea of being with them out of my head. But once there was some indication that I’d get to see them sooner than I thought, I really started to miss them.

So for now, I wait. When I have free time, I try to keep myself occupied. Reading, writing, a little bit of cooking, and yesterday I did a deep cleaning of our room, which definitely made me feel better!

10 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. This makes me wonder how I’ll be if I ever go to Sikkim to A’s home. Which is one of the reasons he’s already decided that we wouldn’t be there. I am glad he thinks that way. It’s easier to adapt to somewhere in the States or England for example rather than India, Sri Lanka or Nepal. In the beginning I’m sure it keeps you pre-occupied settling down and all but once that happens, its hard not to yearn for life in the normal lane.

    I really hope you get to visit fast Zoe. Or just go back, however you wish it. Im sure your family is just as eager to see you. *fingers crossed*

    • Thanks Tash ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course I miss my family, but I’m also really looking forward to the food! I can’t wait to bite into a big sandwich (the sandwiches in Nepal just aren’t the same)

      I’m not sure what Sikkim is like, but I imagine it could be hard to settle there. Do you think you’ll get a chance to visit?

      • I wish I get to visit. I’ve heard so much, seen so much (through A’s eyes and stories ofcourse) and Im just counting days to visit. I imagine it’d be like the hill stations in Sri Lanka. It looks like that too in the pictures but A says its very clean, corruption-free and very literate which makes it all the more exciting to visit Sikkim because a state like that in India would be a hard catch! It would be hard for me to settle in Sri lanka so it’d definitely be hard for me in Sikkim too, especially being a city girl! In Sri Lanka atleast you get the beaches..(I am the totally sun and sand types) but Sikkim is purely the hills! As much as I love it, it would drain me out after a while I assume.

        My new post was written keeping you in mind too ๐Ÿ™‚

        • I just remembered that at some point last year I was reading about Sikkim and its language policy. I don’t remember the specifics, but I think they’ve done a lot to encourage minority language teaching and learning. Very cool ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

