The Natural Lawn Mower and The Unusual Passengers

The other day Tri and I were driving home from work, and as we were passing the golf course off of Ring Road, I said, “Look there are some goats on the lawn.” Tri half-jokingly said, “No silly, those are the lawn mowers.” It looks like the long-held tradition in Nepal is being picked up in other parts of the world…

This morning, Tri showed me a 2009 post from Google’s blog. Apparently they use goats to mow their lawn at their Mountain View Headquarters. It’s a pretty awesome alternative. No air pollution and free fertilizer 🙂

In other goat news…

During the Dashain festival, Nepali families often eat goat meat and sometimes slaughter the goats themselves. When I Iived with my host familiy in Kathmandu as a student, they brought a goat home, killed it, cleaned it, and shared the meat with the neighbors.

I felt very mixed about the whole process. My gut instinct was to turn away in disgust, but I forced myself to watch the slaughter. I had never experienced the killing of an animal, but of course I had eaten lots of meat in my life. When the meat comes all nicely cooked and spiced on your plate, it’s hard to remember that that product came from a living thing. It certainly made me think about where the meat was coming from and what the animal gave up for us to eat.

While my host aama (“mother”) was cooking the goat, no part of the animal was wasted. The head was cooked over a fire, the innards were fried, even the blood was boiled down and eaten. I wanted to experience the slaughter as fully as I could, so I told my host aamaa that I would eat anything she put on my plate. I was able to down some of the goat blood, but I just couldn’t stomach the fried stomach. My family members in the US are generally pretty adventurous eaters, and my parents taught me to always try new things, but I got to thinking about that live animal, and I just couldn’t eat it all. The experience didn’t turn me into a vegetarian, but I do try to eat less meat, especially mammal meat.

As Dashain nears this year, the streets of Kathmandu have been filled with all sorts of activity. Hoards of people, streams of cars, puja being performed, and much much more. Last night on the way to a party, I saw a goat standing patiently in the back of a taxi:

The family wasn’t taking it home to raise; they were taking it home to eat. It’s pretty amazing that the taxi driver okayed the unusual passengers, but maybe they’re not so unusual in Nepal 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Natural Lawn Mower and The Unusual Passengers

  1. It is so easy to forget the fact where meat comes from once it is cooked and ready to eat in the plate. I remember one year when I was small, our family bought goat for Dashain. We had the cute goat for 3 days before it was slaughtered. I fed him and looked after him so I couldn’t eat his meat. I turned vegetarian for next 3 years until I was forced to eat meat again. Now I enjoy meat but won’t watch animal being killed.

    Hope you are enjoying Dashain!!!

  2. I miss going shopping for goat with my dad. The goat would get to live with us for a night or two. I used to watch them graze in the front lawn of my house and at night we would tie him up in the house. Sometimes it would be really difficult to sleep at night. Then we would take them to a slaughterhouse the next day. The same afternoon, my mom (she’s a vegetarian) would be cooking various delicacies of goat meat. It’s been many years I haven’t had goad meat actually. The last time I had was back about two years ago and I plan to give up goat meat eventually. However I do not think I can give up meat and fish easily. Is this your first Dasain in Nepal?

    • Oh man. It must have been hard to have the goat around for a few days. I feel like I would get attached to it, and it would be harder to eat it. Since we’re not celebrating this year, there hasn’t been much goat meat at our house, but maybe we’ll get a goat for next year…

  3. I remember seeing two goats in a taxi in Pokhara (sounds like that start of a joke, doesn’t it?) and I had no illusion about where they would end up. I can’t watch at all but I respect where my food comes from. I at least thank the animal for it’s sacrifice. But goat is so delicious, it is a split call.

  4. Pingback: Dashain 2012 | nepali jiwan

Leave a Reply

