Another Post about Cars…

Strangely enough, this is my third post about cars. I’ve never been very interested vehicles, so it’s funny that I keep writing about them…maybe my unconscious mind is trying to tell me something. At least my little brother (a true lover of cars) will be happy 🙂

On Saturday we went to the NADA Auto Show. According to the Kathmandu Post, it’s the one and only car show in the country. See their article here.

They didn’t have any really fancy cars like you might find at an American car show, but it was nice to see some of the vehicles up close. The motorcycles were definitely the best part. Here I am next to my favorite one…

We also sat inside a Nano, an Indian-made car that costs a little over 2,100 dollars without Nepali tax. I really like small cars, but I haven’t heard great things about the Nano. Apparently they tend to catch on fire, and the car we tried out was pretty cheaply made. We all thought it felt a little like a tempo, a small Nepali taxi (sort of similar to an Indian tuktuk). I guess we won’t be getting a Nano anytime soon.

On the way home, we ate taas at TaasGhar (meaning ‘taas house’), a restaurant in New Baneshwor. Taas is a Nepali meat dish that originated in Chitwan, an area in Southern Nepal. Here is the cook frying up the mutton…

And here’s what they brought to our table…

                                                          From left to right is mulako achaar (pickled radish), taas, and some fresh kaakro (cucumber) and gajar (carot). On the bottom is murai (puffed rice) with jhura (fried spices) that include turmeric, cumin, ginger, garlic, onion and others.

Each piece of meat had a crunchy outer skin and a chewy inside. To eat this dish, you grab some puffed rice, spices, and piece of meat and pop it in your mouth. It was pretty good, but I think I like momo (Nepali dumplings) better.

2 thoughts on “Another Post about Cars…

  1. Pingback: That Car Is More Expensive Than You Think… | Musings from an American-Nepali Household

Leave a Reply

