Opportunity in Nepal

Before I left for Nepal, I told my dad that I felt there are more opportunities here than in the US. I started looking for work about a year ago back home and hadn’t found anything by the time graduation rolled around. I probably would have gotten a job eventually, although not necessarily in a field I am all that interested in. However, within about two weeks of coming to Nepal, I found grant writing work in an INGO. I’ll be doing something I’m really excited about and working for an organization I believe in. Finding work requires a certain set of search and interview skills, but honestly knowing the right people makes all the difference. The connections we have here definitely helped me find a job, but I would still say that the opportunities here for young college grads are more abundant than in the US.

Things feel more vibrant in Nepal. People are implementing interesting, creative ideas, opening restaurants, shops, and starting businesses of all kinds. Tri and I are super excited to be witnessing and hopefully participating in this economic growth. Yesterday my dad sent me an article about emerging markets, “The Case for Going Global is Stronger than Ever.” Admittedly I don’t understand much of the economic jargon, but one major thing I get from the article is that developing nations are good places to invest because of this emerging economic growth, like the type we’re experiencing here.

Many of Tri’s friends from high school have come back from abroad to put their ideas into action. One friend of ours is thinking about growing artificial sweetener and exporting it to Russia; another acquaintance is opening a chain of bubble tea restaurants. It’s incredibly exciting to be around so many new ideas and so much economic growth, and I can’t wait to see what’s to come.

7 thoughts on “Opportunity in Nepal

  1. I enjoyed this post. I’m happy to hear about enthusiastic young people that are starting to go back. I get into this “discussion” with my FIL sometimes– he is completely in love with the US and I highly doubt that he would want P to go back, and encourages others to leave. I get it, things can be rough back home with politics and infrastructure (among other things), but my argument is, if all the young, educated qualified people leave, who will help build a better Nepal for tomorrow? One day, I would love to also move to Nepal, even if only for a few years. I think it would be important for me from a cultural/language standpoint, but also I think it would be good to be part of the positive change.

  2. You’re totally right…Nepal needs those young, educated people, and it seems like many of them are returning from abroad or at least investing in projects going on in Nepal. It would be really amazing if you moved to Nepal, and I think there are a lot of opportunities here in the fields you and P work in.

  3. I totally understand the feeling of “explosive progress” you describe — it’s there in India too, you can really sense it. But I feel as though a lot of people fall between the cracks in that kind of rapidly-developing society. Namely, the poor and uneducated.

  4. Pingback: Poverty and Wealth, Side by Side | nepali jiwan

Leave a Reply

