We made it!

On the roof of our new home

From left to right: Tri's brother, Tri's cousin, me, and Tri

We flew into Nepal last Thursday morning, and it’s been a crazy few days. A lot of memories from being here before have been coming back to me, although it feels very different. For one thing, being here with Tri is a completely new experience. Before I was here as a student studying abroad, but now I’m part of a Nepali family, which brings its own benefits and challenges. It’s also very different without Tri’s mom around. Her absence is hard to swallow, but we’re getting by.

5 thoughts on “We made it!

  1. Delighted to hear from you. Your mom looked over my shoulder as I read the blog. She and Sash stayed a couple nights and cheered Catherine very highly so things have been better.
    We will keep in touch.

    Gordon

  2. So great to hear from you. It will be a real education for me to have frequent news from you.
    Your Mom and Sasha look great and made me cheer up.

    Nepal looks just beautiful.
    We love you,
    Grandma

  3. Hi! I recently came across your blog. You mention that you have studied abroad in Nepal. I am very curious in studying abroad/volunteering in Nepal. What program did you go through? Thank you!

    • Hi E. I went through Pitzer in Nepal, run by Pitzer College. It was a really great program, and their Nepali language instruction is excellent. I think there are also programs through Cornell and SIT, but I don’t know much about them. You can email me at nepalijiwan@gmail.com if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

